Lough Gowna
Copyright managed by the Library Council

The River Shannon expands into many different lakes along its course, many of which extend over the borders of Co. Longford and Co. Leitrim. Examples include Lough Forbes, Drumshanbo Lake, Lough Sallagh, Feargalss Lake, Cloncosa Lake, Gortermore Lake, and Gulladoo Lake. There are also many lakes that lie solely within the confines of Longford county borders, owing to the low-lying nature of the terrain, for example Killeen Lake, Currygrane Lake and Lough Bannow.

Lough Gowna spreads across the Longford-Cavan border, although the majority of the lake lies within the border of Co. Longford. The lake was formed at the end of the last Ice-Age when it was dammed by glacial deposit, or moraine. A large island on Lough Gowna, Inchmore, was the site of a 6th century monastery founded by St. Colmcille.

previousPrevious - Longford
Next - Lough Kinale & Derraghnext