Introduction and Geography

Upload to this page

Add your photos, text, videos, etc. to this page.

  • Aspects of Laois


County Laois, located in the midlands of Ireland has a very interesting past and present. From the large number of ancient monuments, the fascinating histories of some of the towns and the geography of the place, Co. Laois has a lot to offer everyone.


The landscape of Co. Laois is dominated by two

The River Barrow geographical features. They are the Slieve Bloom Mountains and The River Barrow.

The River Barrow is one of The Three Sisters, which is a group of three rivers that meet as they enter the sea at Waterford. The other two are the River Nore

Slieve Bloom and the River Suir. The Barrow is 120 miles long, which makes it the second longest river in Ireland after The Shannon. It passes through such towns as Portarlington, Carlow and New Ross and has its source in the Slieve Bloom Mountains.

The Slieve Bloom Mountains are a range of mountains located in the centre of Ireland. The highest point of Slieve Bloom is at Arderin, which is 526 metres tall. Whilst they are mainly found in County Laois, parts of the mountain range are located in County Offaly and County Tipperary too.