Sea Turtles

Upload to this page

Add your photos, text, videos, etc. to this page.

There are seven different species of sea turtles:

  • Leatherback
  • Flatback
  • Hawksbill
  • Green sea turtle
  • Kemp’s Ridley
  • Loggerhead
  • Olive Ridley


Sea turtle cartoon

Sea turtles live in all the oceans of the world except the Arctic Ocean.

They spend most of their lives in the water but they also breathe air. They can usually stay underwater for about five minutes before swimming to the surface to fill their lungs with fresh air. However, if they are sleeping or resting, they don’t need to use as much energy so they can stay underwater for a few hours at a time. The hard shell that covers the sea turtle’s back helps to protect it from predators.


Turtles usually return to the same beach to nest every year. The female turtle uses her hind flippers to dig a hole in the sand and then carefully places her eggs inside. She covers them with sand to hide the nest and when she has finished, she leaves the nest and returns to the ocean.

Sometimes, turtles can lay as many as 200 eggs!

After about two months, the eggs begin to hatch and the new hatchlings, or young turtles, dig their way out through the sand with their little snouts. They naturally go towards the sea, but unfortunately there are many predators waiting for them. Seabirds hunt the hatchlings, and only a tiny number of them make it to the sea alive.