Dublin - South Dublin

South Dublin County stretches from the Dublin/ Wicklow in the South to Dublin City in the North. In the census of 2006, the population of South Dublin was 278,749 and it covers an area of 86.66 square miles.

South Dublin is bordered by Dublin City, Dún Laoghaire Rathdown, Wicklow and Kildare. It contains extensive urban and some rural areas. This combination provides an abundance of diverse habitats for  flora, fauna, woodlands and wildlife. 

Towns and villages in South Dublin include Tallaght, Lucan, Clondalkin, Palmerstown, Rathfarnham, Rathcoole, Saggart, Newcastle and Brittas. There is also a new urban area being developed in Adamstown.

There are many important physical features in the county. The Dublin / Wicklow mountains by the Glenasmole Valley form a natural boundry between South Dublin and Wicklow and offer spectacular views over Dublin Bay. Several rivers rise and flow through the county as well as the Grand Canal which flows through Lucan and Clondalkin. Parks are also a particularly important  part of the landscape providing many green spaces and also habitats for wildlife in the region.


previousPrevious - Sustainable Development
Next - Dublin Mountainsnext